52nd WA Sprintcar Title 7/12/2013 On The Line

Tuesday December 3, 2013. | SAWA PR |

THERE is a fair chance the 52nd WA Sprintcar Championship that will be held at the Perth Motorplex this Saturday night will be won by an interstate driver.
South Australian Luke Dillon has been in red-hot form this season when driving the Diamond Bay Motorsports W26 and has won the last three rounds of the AHG Sprintcar Series, including the 40-lap Scardifield Smash Repairs King of Wings here two weeks ago.
Ian Loudoun is making the trek across from Sydney again and will be a serious contender in the Peet Motorsport W65 machine.
Brooke Tatnell, who is originally from Sydney but races professionally in America these days, arrived in Western Australia last week and has teamed up with the Bunbury-based Krikke Motorsport operation.
He took a second in the Bunbury round last weekend in the W2.
While he might be a Queenslander, he lives in Western Australia these days and Cameron Gessner is also a major chance of claiming a trophy on Saturday night for the Cowara Motorsport W41.
And Sydney ace Matt Young is back in the West again and will be driving the Minchin Motorsport W22.
So what will the locals be saying about the interstate invasion?
Well the short answer is plenty.
Former winners Jason Kendrick, David Priolo, Mark Wells and Jamie Maiolo are in the field and all hoping to put their name on the honour board again.
Add in drivers such as Lee Nash, Shaun Bradford, Brad Maiolo, Carl Dowling plus a whole heap more and it is going to be one of the most fiercely-contested championships.


1962-63    Roy Garvey
1963-64    Laurie Hillary
1964-65    Geoff Brown
1965-66    Geoff Brown
1966-67    Tony Fazio
1967-68    Alf Barbagallo
1968-69    Ray Geneve
1969-70    David Rockford
1970-71    Tony Matta
1971-72    David Rockford
1972-73    Alf Barbagallo
1973-74    Alf Barbagallo
1974-75    Noel Bradford
1975-76    Noel Bradford
1976-77    Ray Geneve
1977-78    Alf Barbagallo
1978-79    Alf Barbagallo
1979-80    Ray Geneve
1980-81    Lee Foster
1981-82    Alf Barbagallo
1982-83    Bill Sutherland
1983-84    Ron Krikke
1984-85    Ron Krikke
1985-86    Ian Bradford
1986-87    Lee Foster
1987-88    Ian Bradford
1988-89    John Krikke
1989-90    Shane Murphy
1990-91    Mark Wells
1991-92    Shane Murphy
1992-93    Shane Murphy
1993-94    Garry Brazier (NSW)
1994-95    John Krikke
1995-96    Garry Sartori
1996-97    Mark Wells
1997-98    Mark Wells
1998-99    Ron Krikke
1999-00    Ryan Farrell
2000-01    Jamie Maiolo
2001-02    Jamie Maiolo
2002-03    Jeff Leisk
2003-04    Mark Wells
2004-05    Ryan Farrell
2005-06    Ryan Farrell
2006-07    Ryan Farrell
2007-08    Ryan Farrell
2008-09    Ryan Farrell
2009-10    David Priolo
2010-11    Kerry Madsen (NSW)
2011-12    Jason Kendrick
2012-13    Ryan Farrell
2013-14    ??????