Bumper field for Bonza Bradford! -

Wednesday November 13, 2013. | DTN Media |

After the opening night successes, the MMS Civil 360 Sprintcar Power Series roars back into life this weekend at Pithara Speedway. The second round though, will have a very special meaning to it as it doubles as the annual Bonza Bradford Memorial.


Ian ‘Bonza’ Bradford was a well loved and respected Sprintcar driver back in the days of Claremont Speedway, claiming two state titles wins and no less than nineteen feature victories on the Claremont dirt. Sadly Bonza lost his battle with cancer on the 7th of November, 1992 at just 33 years of age. In his memory the Bonza Bradford Memorial race has been constructed and over the years it has grown in stature to the point where many drivers want to compete in the race. This year’s event has grown again, with no less than 26 drivers nominated, in part due to the fact it is a part of the Power Series which is the strongest it has ever been.


Leading the nominations is the son of Bonza, Shaun Bradford. Shaun inherited his dad’s talent behind the wheel and has thrown his hat into the ring in an attempt to reclaim the Bonza Bradford Memorial after a number of previous victories in the race. Originally Shaun was unable to compete in the race for this season, but at the last minute Greg Fisher has stepped in and offered Shaun the use of his 360ci engine, allowing Shaun to have another crack.


Current MMS Civil 360 Sprintcar Power Series points leader Trent Pigdon is also nominated and will be looking to rain on Bradford’s parade and make it two wins from two after claiming the opening series round at Narrogin Speedway a couple of weeks ago


Also in the field is former Queensland champion and now Western Australia domiciled Cameron Gessner, who this week slots in a 360ci engine and will have his first crack at the race and indeed at Pithara Speedway.  Despite never having raced at the venue, one can be assured that Gessner will be right on the pace and searching for nothing less than a victory.


Looking through the rest of the nominations, one will see that there are many names that are capable of standing on the top step of the podium. Drivers the ilk of Chris Ackland (who is currently second in the Power Series points), Terry Cutts, defending series champion Cory Gilpin, Sean Zemunik, Owen Ahchee, Daniel Hawkins and Dean Terry are all more than capable of recording good finishes and if luck goes their way, anything could happen come Saturday night.


The MMS Civil 360 Power Series, proudly supported by Storm Motorsports and Keenquip Race Products, and all their drivers are extremely excited for this weekend’s event and we encourage all of you to make the short drive to Pithara Speedway this weekend for what is sure to be an absolutely cracking event.


Thanks to our Series Sponsors: MMS Civil (WA) Pty Ltd Storm Motorsports Australia Keenquip Race Products Westralian Diamond Drillers TMG Fabrication Chamberlains Auto Electrics Prestige Fibreglass Design and Apply MotoGraphics Dirt Track Nutters Shanoweb Designs


Official Nominations - 26


4 Kent Roberts
9 Terry Cutts
11 Chris Ackland
12 Daniel Harding
18 Cory Gilpin
19 Trent Pigdon
21 Danny Attwood
23 Ben Dickson
27 Sean Zemunik
28 Brad Alabach
31 Phil Waters
32 Jake Beard-Miller
33 Owen Ahchee
41 Cameron Gessner
49 Ryan Schlam
52 Troy Anderson
54 Daniel Hawkins
57 Shaun Bradford
60 Dean Terry
62 Steve Treasure
69 Jason Pryde
79 Justin Wragg
82 Steven Ford
86 Corey Hunter
93 Shane Norris
96 Aldo De Paioli



Shaun Bradford is ready to pay tribute to his Dad. DTN Media Photo.