Gessner Grabs Bonza Win -

Tuesday November 19, 2013. | DTN Media |

Last weekend at Pithara Speedway it was Cameron Gessner who survived everything that was thrown at him, including twenty one other competitors to claim the Bonza Bradford Memorial, which doubled as round two of the MMS Civil 360 Sprintcar Power Series. It was his first win in the event and indeed the series on his very first visit to Pithara Speedway.


The afternoon was hot and muggy, but quickly became overcast, leading to some vicious thunder and lightning during the drivers meeting, which sparked fires in the not too far distance. The conditions changed yet again when the heavens opened as the cars filed out onto the track for the minutes silence tribute to Ian ‘Bonza’ Bradford, the man whose passing was the catalyst for this very race all those years ago.


Thankfully the shower only lasted about five minutes and racing was able to get underway shortly after the official opening. A decent crowd was in attendance and despite the change in conditions, the track held up relatively well, although a little dusty. Shaun Bradford took out the opening heat race in the event that honours his father, signalling his intentions early as he defeated Jason Pryde and Owen Ahchee.


The second heat was taken out by Cameron Gessner in his first competitive drive at Pithara Speedway as he defeated Daniel Hawkins and Terry Cutts while the final heat of the opening round went to Dean Terry over Trent Pigdon and Daniel Harding. Round two of heat racing action kicked off with Trent Pigdon bettering his earlier effort to claim the win from Daniel Harding and Jake Beard-Miller. Heat five was taken out by SAWA President Kent Roberts in his first run for season 2013/14 ahead of the veteran Terry Cutts and Bradford while heat six saw Gessner become the only dual winner of the night as he defeated Dean Terry and Chris Ackland


Heat seven was taken out by defending MMS Civil Power Series Champion Cory Gilpin from Pryde and Terry while heat eight went the way of Steven Ford in the absolute race of the night. Ford started from the front row in the race and led the entire distance, with Bradford catching him with just four to go. The duo battled side by side, swapping track lines and the lead for the remainder of the race with Ford holding on to claim the win by half a front tyre ahead of Bradford, while Cameron Gessner was further back in third in his only defeat of the night. The final heat was taken out by Daniel Harding over Ahchee and Corey Hunter.


The A Main was a tyre burning affair, with a number of drivers failing to complete the distance, including Jake Beard-Miller and Troy Anderson who found themselves coming together in an incident that saw both cars suffer significant damage. In the end it was Gessner who outclassed the opposition and claimed the win ahead of the impressive Trent Pigdon, with Shaun Bradford coming home third. Courtesy of his win Gessner also picked up a $200 Storm Motorsports voucher, as did Chris Ackland in fifth and Kent Roberts who came home in eleventh.


The Series now has a short break before returning to action in the new year at the Perth Motorplex for the 10th Annual Sprintcar Muster on the 3rd and 4th of January. On behalf of everyone involved with the MMS Civil 360 Sprintcar Power Series and the Sprintcar Association of WA, we wish you a very safe Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.


Thanks to our Series Sponsors: MMS Civil (WA) Pty Ltd Storm Motorsports Australia Keenquip Race Products Westralian Diamond Drillers TMG Fabrication Chamberlains Auto Electrics Prestige Fibreglass Design and Apply MotoGraphics Dirt Track Nutters Shanoweb Designs


Release by DTN Media.


Official Results
Heat One – 1. Shaun Bradford, 2. Jason Pryde, 3. Owen Ahchee, 4. Kent Roberts, 5. Cory Gilpin, 6. Ben Dickson, 7. Brad Alabach.
Heat Two – 1. Cameron Gessner, 2. Daniel Hawkins, 3. Terry Cutts, 4. Chris Ackland, 5. Danny Attwood, 6. Corey Hunter, 7. Troy Anderson.
Heat Three – 1. Dean Terry, 2. Trent Pigdon, 3. Daniel Harding, 4. Jake Beard-Miller, 5. Steven Ford, 6. Aldo De Paioli, 7. Phil Waters. DNS: Steve Treasure.
Heat Four – 1. Trent Pigdon, 2. Daniel Harding, 3. Jake Beard-Miller, 4. Ben Dickson, 5. Owen Ahchee, 6. Cory Gilpin. DNS: Steve Treasure.
Heat Five – 1. Kent Roberts, 2. Terry Cutts, 3. Shaun Bradford, 4. Corey Hunter, 5. Daniel Hawkins, 6. Jason Pryde, 7. Brad Alabach.
Heat Six – 1. Cameron Gessner, 2. Dean Terry, 3. Chris Ackland, 4. Danny Attwood, 5. Aldo De Paioli, 6. Steven Ford, 7. Troy Anderson. DNS: Phil Waters.
Heat Seven – 1. Cory Gilpin, 2. Jason Pryde, 3. Dean Terry, 4. Brad Alabach, 5. Kent Roberts, 6. Daniel Hawkins, 7. Ben Dickson.
Heat Eight – 1. Steven Ford, 2. Shaun Bradford, 3. Cameron Gessner, 4. Troy Anderson, 5. Terry Cutts, 6. Danny Attwood, 7. Jake Beard-Miller.
Heat Nine – 1. Daniel Harding, 2. Owen Ahchee, 3. Corey Hunter, 4. Chris Ackland, 5. Trent Pigdon. DNS: Aldo De Paioli.
A Main – 1. Cameron Gessner, 2. Trent Pigdon, 3. Shaun Bradford, 4. Terry Cutts, 5. Chris Ackland, 6. Dean Terry, 7. Jason Pryde, 8. Brad Alabach, 9. Cory Gilpin, 10. Daniel Hawkins, 11. Kent Roberts, 12. Aldo De Paioli, 13. Corey Hunter, 14. Danny Attwood. DNF: Steven Ford, Troy Anderson, Jake Beard-Miller, Ben Dickson, Owen Ahchee. DNS: Daniel Harding, Phil Waters, Steve Treasure.



Winner Cameron Gessner underneath third placed Shaun Bradford. Photo by Mel Parker.