Lines in WSS win

Saturday February 15, 2014. | Darren ODea |

STEVEN Lines won round 10 of ENZED World Series Sprintcars at the Perth Motorplex on Friday night from Jamie Veal and Brooke Tatnell.

Lines started on the front row and despite surrendering ground early to Veal, he made his mark on lap eight when he rounded up Veal by running the higher line in lapped traffic and never looked back despite the latter preparing for a challenge around lap 22 before a red light stoppage.

Veal also started on the front row and crossed the line 1.906 seconds off the win.

Tatnell, who started from the fifth row was the big charger in traffic for his third.

Ian Madsen, in his last drive in Australia before returning to America, was sensational to finish fourth after starting towards the back of the pack after finishing second in the B Main.

Luke Dillon was fifth and followed by James McFadden, Dylan Jenkin, Matt Egel, David Priolo (who won the B Main, Jamie Maiolo, Carl Dowling, Jason Kendrick, Daniel Pestka, Kye Scroop and Shane Norris.

Jackson Delamont was the first casualty, heading infield with a broken front-end after a handful of laps with Ian Loudoun blowing a left rear tyre on lap 12 with Garry Brazier withdrawing from the contest around the same time.

Cameron Gessner rode out a massive wreck on lap 22 when the car failed to turn left at the end of the back straight, digging into the concrete fence hard in a sickening blow.

With the red lights on Shaun Bradford decided to surrender his spot in the top five after the borrowed engine from Garry Miller was running warm

He was forced to change the motor after being impressive in the Gold Shootout and Robbie Farr also withdrew before the restart with a steaming engine.




Steven Lines (pictured by Bruce Russell) won the Friday night round of ENZED World Series Sprintcars at the Perth Motorplex.