Take Two for Title!


DTN Media / SAWA PR posted Wednesday April 6, 2016.


This weekend will see the second attempt at running the WA 360 Sprintcar Title, with another good field of competitors ready to hit the track after the original scheduled event was rained out.

With the event doubling as the next round of the 360 Sprintcar Power Series, it is certainly a huge double trouble meeting for the competitors and adds some extra incentive to win the already prestigious event.

The first WA 360 Sprintcar Title was held back in the 1993 season, meaning that this weekend will be the twenty fourth annual running of the event, ironic then that we have twenty four competitors nominated for battle.

Within those twenty four competitors are actually four former winners, interestingly enough with those that bookend the honour roll, being both the inaugural winner and the defending champion, included in the field.

Terry Cutts claimed the first ever running of the event in 1993, while Ryan Farrell dominated last year’s event to claim his first WA 360 Title crown. Now with the Australian 360 Title also on his mantle, Farrell will be racing hard to grab his second consecutive WA title, while Cutts would love nothing more than to grab another title.

Ben Ellement and Luch Monte are the other drivers to have previously won the event, with Ellement having claimed back to back wins in the 2012 and 2013 seasons while Monte grabbed the 2006 running of the event. Monte is indeed the last start winner having claimed the feature at Manjimup Speedway a few weekends ago, ensuring he is in red hot form and ready to claim his second title against a quality field of competitors.

Ellement however hasn’t raced the 360 Sprintcar this season, but will be sure to use all his skill and experience against the rest of the field to ensure he is towards the pointy end come feature time.

He and Farrell, along with Mitchell Wormall and Aldo De Paoli, will also be doing double duty on the night, with the opportunity to also claim the WA 410 Sprintcar Championship: a unique chance at a double on just one night and one that would certainly see them rewrite the history books.

Both Wormall and De Paoli are just two of the twenty other competitors looking for their maiden victories. Both have had strong seasons thus far, figuring prominently in a number of events and this weekend is one that they would love to perform well in once again.

Of course, as mentioned, there is a whole list of other drivers determined to claim the #1 crown for themselves. Names such as Michael Keen, David Hall, Rob Watson, Ben Van Ryt and Jake Beard-Miller have all been front runners in recent months and each has the talent to grab the title win, if a little bit of luck will just go their way.

Add into the field a couple of surprise entrants including Jason Priolo, back in the seat after a break, and the return of names like Owen Ahchee, Steven Ford and Ed Trutwin, all of whom have a chance of claiming a good result if things go their way, while a mix of rookies such as Robert Mould, Luke Hughes and Jamie Landrigan and the experiences names like Kent Roberts, Rod Snellin and Phil Waters are sure to keep them honest in what is set to be a great battle.

With the field now set and the Motorplex once again ready to light up the night sky with the event being the General Firecracker, a tribute to ‘The General’ John Day, we have all the ingredients for what is sure to be a massive show!

See you this Saturday night at the Perth Motorplex!

Release by DTN Media.

Official Nominations – 24
4 Kent Roberts
5 David Hall
9 Terry Cutts
11 Jamie Landrigan
15 Michael Keen
16 Robert Mould
17 Luch Monte
22 Fergie Donaldson
29 Rod Snellin
31 Phil Waters
32 Jake Beard-Miller
33 Owen Ahchee
44 Ben Ellement
50 Jason Priolo
50wx Michael Gronow
66 Rob Watson Jnr
67 Luke Hughes
75 Ben Van Ryt
82 Steven Ford
88 Ed Trutwin
90 Ryan Farrell
96 Aldo De Paoli
97 Mitchell Wormall
98 Jamie Buszan


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]