Kendrick wins WSS final


SEG Media posted Sunday February 25, 2018.


"THAT'S on top of the list.

"The World Series Sprintcars finale is a pretty big race here at the Perth Motorplex."

They were the comments from Jason Kendrick just after he won the World Series Sprintcars grand final at the Perth Motorplex on Sunday night.

"To have my name on the trophy and have a World Series Sprintcars win is unreal," Kendrick said.

"That's what we come here for."

Kendrick won the 30-lap final from Shaun Bradford and Jamie Veal.

Kendrick started from P2 in the final and lost ground early to national champion Kerry Madsen and newly-crowned WSS champion James McFadden in a race that took a while to get going.

The race was only a lap old when Kaiden Manders and Andrew Priolo were both out in separate rollovers.

American Carson Macedo was also out before the race resumed, having trouble keeping the car in gear.

On lap 14 Lisa Walker rolled and leader Madsen and second-placed McFadden had nowhere to go, getting caught up and putting them both out, handing the lead to Kendrick.

On the restart Kendrick led away from Bradford and Veal.
There was a great battle between Brooke Tatnell and Lachlan McHugh for fifth spot on lap 17.

Tatnell won that battle and eventually moved up to finish fourth.
After the race Veal said he had nothing for the local boys and pretty much hung on.

Bradford said he was lucky to escape without damage after the crash took out the leaders.

McHugh claimed fifth ahead of David Murcott, Bradley Maiolo, Ben Ellement, Jamie Maiolo, Dominic Scelzi, Mitchell Wormall, Jack Lee, Brad Keller, Jamie Oldfield, Darren Mollenoyux, Glen Sutherland and Kevin Titman.


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]