Veal wins KBS Preliminary


SEG Media posted Sunday March 4, 2018.


JAMIE Veal started from pole and despite losing some ground early to Daniel Harding and James McFadden, took the preliminary feature race in the Krikke Boys Shootout at Quit Bunbury Speedway on Saturday night.

He won the 25-lap feature race from Jason Kendrick and Darren Mollenoyux - in what was also the grand final of the 2017-18 AHG Sprintcar Championship that Kendrick won from Brad Maiolo, Jamie Oldfield and Jamie Maiolo.

Heading into the final the AHG championship could have been won by three different drivers - Kendrick and the two Maiolos.

Kendrick held a slender six point lead over Brad Maiolo and started from P11 in the final with Brad starting from P10.

Jamie Maiolo was to start from P2 and if he won the feature and his championship rivals finished in the back half of the field, he would have clinched the deal.

Unfortunately for Maiolo he had car issues as the field rolled around before the four-wide salute and pulled infield, failing to start.

The race only made it to the first corner before the first major incident saw Mick Saller crash and Kye Scroop also out of the action.

On the next attempt there was an incident at the opposite end of the track when Taylor Milling and Lisa Walker came together and also put out AJ Nash.

The race finally got in a groove before American Carson Macedo got out of shape and spun around coming out of turn four, going to the rear on the restart.

Harding, who started from P4 and was in control at the front of the field, looked very strong in the early stages until he was hit by McFadden, who started from P8 and got a big run down the inside of Veal before hitting Harding with 16 laps remaining.

It was a hard crash that put the two contenders out of the race.

Mitchell Wormall also got caught up in the tail end of the incident and was out with a punctured tyre.

Veal inherited the lead and led away David Murcott, who had switched to W95 for this event, Luke Dillon, Darren Mollenoyux and Kendrick.

Kendrick snapped up fourth on the restart and Dillon also looked promising for a podium finish but unfortunately he spun on lap nine and went to the rear.

Kendrick then got by Murcott and in the latter stages Mollenoyux was able to grab third.

It was a solid drive from Mollenoyux who started from P5 in the Cowara Motorsport entry.

Brad Maiolo who was languishing in the back half of the pack, rolled over with four laps to go in what was a tough night at the office for the LJM Racing boys.

Macedo put on a show in the second half of the race, running the high line and picking off rivals one by one to finish a very respectable fifth.

Another standout performer was Kris Coyle who hasn't raced for a few years and stepped into the Daryl Clayden W45.

He was impressive from the get-go and finished sixth.

Jamie Oldfield, in his rookie sprintcar season, started 14th and muscled his way into seventh and in the process, claimed third in the championship.

They were followed over the line by Jason Pryde, Glen Sutherland, Luke Dillon, Jamie Landrigan, Darren Mewett and Paul Peet.

Dillon set the Victory 1 Performance Quick Time after the team was plagued with engine dramas.

He also won the first heat with Jamie Maiolo being very strong early, taking two heat wins.

Veal, Nash and McFadden also claimed heat wins.


[ Back To Referring Page | Back To News ]